School Board

The School Board is composed of five members elected from geographical districts and a Chairman is elected by the members of the board. Members serve four-year staggered terms. All members of the Board of Public Education hold certification of professional training provided by the Georgia School Boards Association.  Regular meetings are held at 7:00 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month unless otherwise ordered by the Board.

Board of Education

Dr. Matthew P. Sands.............Chairman
Mr. Curtis Nixon.............Vice-Chairman 
Mr. John Canaday...........Board Member
Ms. Lucille Hannans........Board Member
Mr. Pender Lloyd.............Board Member
Dr. John Lairsey............Superintendent
Board of Education Meeting Information


Work Session

Meeting Dates

January 11, 2018January 16, 2018
February 15, 2018February 20, 2018
March 15, 2018March 20, 2018
April 19, 2018April 24, 2018
May 10, 2018May 15, 2018
June 14, 2018June 19, 2018
July 12, 2018July 17, 2018
August 16, 2018August 21, 2018
September 13, 2018September 18, 2018
October 18, 2018October 23, 2018
November 08, 2018November 13, 2018
December 13, 2018December 18, 2018
January 10, 2019January 15, 2019
The board meetings will be on the third Tuesday of each month with April, October and November being the exception.  The work session will be on the Thursday prior to the board meeting. 
All meetings will begin at 7:00 p.m
REMEMBER: To be placed on the agenda, individuals must request to appear before the Board in writing at least five days prior to the regular monthly meeting of the Board.  The request must state clearly the topic or issue to be addressed.
Enabling this option will replace all fonts with the Open Dyslexic font.
Enabling this option will show a high-contrast version of this site's theme.